Click to return to Dave’s Music Database home page.

Released: June 17, 1997

Rating: 3.286 (average of 7 ratings)

Genre: new wave rock

Quotable: --

Album Tracks:

  1. What Are We Fighting For? [4:43]
  2. Sorry Town [5:06]
  3. Jasmine’s Taste [5:34]
  4. Reach Out [4:38]
  5. Trees (?) [3:47]
  6. Mother England (Manning/Pettus/Smith/Sturmer) [5:48]
  7. Snow Hill [4:17]
  8. I Don’t Want to Be Around [5:13]
  9. Sun King [4:25]
  10. Gone Again [3:52]
All tracks written by Pettus/Smith unless otherwise noted.

Total Running Time: 47:19

Sales (in millions):

sales in U.S. only --
sales in U.K. only - estimated --
sales in all of Europe as determined by IFPI – click here to go to their site. --
sales worldwide - estimated --


peak on U.S. Billboard album chart --
peak on U.K. album chart --

Singles/Hit Songs:

  • none

“Tears for Fears were one of the most popular acts on the planet during the '80s. Songs such as…‘Everybody Wants to Rule the World’ [and] ‘Shout’…ruled the airwaves…during the heyday of 'new wave'. This talented duo (Roland Orzabal and Curt Smith) ended their friendship and musical relationship after their third album, Seeds Of Love, in '89. Orzabal continued recording under the band's name while Smith recorded a solo album (Soul on Board) then dropped out of the music business altogether” (Schnee).

“After spending a couple years away from music” (, “Smith picked up where he left off and began demoing songs. Happy with what he heard” (Schnee), “Curt re-emerged with a new band in New York City. They called themselves ‘Mayfield’ (after the sickeningly cute play-on-words ‘Curt is Mayfield’) and did some gigging around in clubs before putting together a demo tape of ten new songs. In 1997, these ten songs comprised Mayfield's self-titled debut release” ( which was “released online on June 17, 1997 on Curt's own Zerodisc Records label. It was released nationally in retail stores on February 17, 1998, and was released on differing dates worldwide” (

”The album contains the songs written by Curt and Charlton Pettus and performed during Mayfield's NYC club days in 1995-1996” ( “The performers included Charlton on guitar and backing vocals, Doug Petty on keyboards, Russ Irwin on keyboards and backing vocals, and Shawn Pelton on drums” (

“At some point, Curt decided that all future albums would be released under the ‘Curt Smith’ name to limit confusion among vendors. The first of these, the Aeroplane EP, followed in 2000" (

Review Source(s):

Related DMDB Link(s):

previous album: Tears for Fears’ ‘Raoul and the Kings of Spain’ (1995) Tears for Fears DMDB page next album: Roland Orzabal’s ‘Tomcats Screaming Outside’ (2001)

Click on box above to check out the DMDB on Facebook.

Last updated March 11, 2011.