Click to return to Dave’s Music Database home page.

Released: October 8, 1991

Rating: 4.714 (average of 7 ratings)

Genre: electronica

Quotable: “the record that brought acid house, techno, and rave culture crashing into the British mainstream” – Stephen Thomas Erlewine, All Music Guide

Album Tracks:

  1. Movin’ on Up
  2. Slip Inside This House
  3. Don’t Fight It, Feel It (with Denise Johnson)
  4. Higher Than the Sun
  5. Inner Flight
  6. Come Together
  7. Loaded
  8. Damaged
  9. I’m Comin’ Down
  10. Higher Than the Sun (A Dub Symphony in Two Parts)
  11. Shine Like Stars


sales in U.S. only --
sales in U.K. only - estimated --
sales in all of Europe as determined by IFPI – click here to go to their site. --
sales worldwide - estimated --


peak on U.S. Billboard album chart --
peak on U.K. album chart 8

Singles/Hit Songs:

  • Loaded (3/3/90) #16 UK, #19 MR
  • Come Together (8/18/90) #26 UK, #13 MR
  • Higher Than the Sun (6/22/91) #40 UK
  • Don’t Fight It, Feel It (8/24/91) #41 UK
  • Movin’ on Up (10/19/91) #11 UK, #28 AR, #2 MR


Rated one of the top 1000 albums of all time by Dave’s Music Database. Click to learn more. Nationwide Mercury Prize – UK award for Album of the Year. Click to go to Mercury site. Q Magazine’s Top 100 Albums

Primal Scream
“There's no underestimating the importance of Screamadelica, the record that brought acid house, techno, and rave culture crashing into the British mainstream — an impact that rivaled that of Nirvana's Nevermind, the other 1991 release that changed rock. Prior to Screamadelica, Primal Scream were Stonesy classic rock revivalists with a penchant for Detroit rock. They retained those fascinations on Screamadelica — one listen to the Jimmy Miller-produced, Stephen Stills-rip Movin' on Up proves that — but they burst everything wide open here, turning rock inside out by marrying it to a gleeful rainbow of modern dance textures” (Erlewine).

“This is such a brilliant, gutsy innovative record, so unlike anything the Scream did before, that it's little wonder that there's been much debate behind who is actually responsible for its grooves, especially since Andrew Weatherall is credited with production with eight of the tracks, and it's clearly in line with his work” (Erlewine).

“Even if Primal Scream took credit for Weatherall's endeavors, that doesn't erase the fact that they shepherded this album, providing the ideas and impetus for this dubtastic, elastic, psychedelic exercise in deep house and neo-psychedelic. Like any dance music, this is tied to its era to a certain extent, but it transcends it due to its fierce imagination and how it doubles back on rock history, making the past present and vice versa. It was such a monumental step forward that Primal Scream stumbled before regaining their footing, but by that point, the innovations of Screamadelica had been absorbed by everyone from the underground to mainstream” (Erlewine).

“There's little chance that this record will be as revolutionary to first-time listeners, but after its initial spin, the genius in its construction will become apparent — and it's that attention to detail that makes Screamadelica an album that transcends its time and influence” (Erlewine).

Review Source(s):

Last updated November 14, 2008.