Click to return to Dave’s Music Database home page.

Released: October 20, 1992

Rating: 3.850 (average of 18 ratings)

Genre: dance pop

Quotable: --

Album Tracks:

  1. Erotica
  2. Fever
  3. Bye Bye Baby
  4. Deeper and Deeper
  5. Where Life Begins
  6. Bad Girl
  7. Waiting
  8. Thief of Hearts
  9. Words
  10. Rain
  11. Why’s It So Hard
  12. In This Life
  13. Did You Do It?
  14. Secret Garden


sales in U.S. only 2 million
sales in U.K. only - estimated 600,000
sales in all of Europe as determined by IFPI – click here to go to their site. --
sales worldwide - estimated 6.5 million


peak on U.S. Billboard album chart 2
peak on U.K. album chart 2

Singles/Hit Songs:

  • Erotica (10/17/92) #2a US, #3 UK. Gold single.
  • Deeper and Deeper (12/5/92) #7 US, #6 UK
  • Bad Girl (2/20/93) #36 US, #10 UK
  • Fever (4/3/93) #6 UK
  • Rain (7/24/93) #11a US, #7 UK, #7 AC

Madonna’s 1990 retrospective The Immaculate Collection seemed to close a chapter in her life. Whereas that collection encompassed the dance-pop sound that she developed in the ‘80s, her first studio album of the ‘90s signaled a new direction; rather than just straight-pop, her songs now integrated elements of electronica, a sound which wouldn’t come to its full fruition until 1998’s Ray of Light.

“While it didn't set the charts on fire like her previous albums, the ambitious Erotica contains some of Madonna’s best and most accomplished music (including the hit singles Deeper and Deeper and Rain), even if it runs a bit long” (Erlewine).

Review Source(s):

Related DMDB Links:

Previous Album: The Immaculate Collection (compilation: 1983-1990) Madonna’s DMDB page Next Album: Bedtime Stories (1994)

Last updated March 26, 2008.