Click to return to Dave’s Music Database home page.

Released: March 1969

Rating: 2.882 (average of 10 ratings)

Genre: progressive rock

Quotable: --

Album Tracks:

  1. Where the Sour Turns to Sweet
  2. In the Beginning
  3. Fireside Song
  4. The Serpent
  5. Am I Very Wrong?
  6. In the Wilderness
  7. The Conqueror
  8. In Hiding
  9. One Day
  10. Window
  11. In Limbo

Sales (in millions):

sales in U.S. only --
sales in U.K. only - estimated --
sales in all of Europe as determined by IFPI – click here to go to their site. --
sales worldwide - estimated 1.0


peak on U.S. Billboard album chart 170
peak on U.K. album chart --

Singles/Hit Songs:

  • The Silent Sun * (2/22/68) --
  • A Winter’s Tale * (5/10/68) --
  • Where the Sour Turns to Sweet (6/27/69) --
* only on reissues

Notes: This album has been reissued with bonus tracks “The Silent Sun” (two version), “A Place to Call My Own,” “Winter’s Tale,” “One-Eyed Hound,” “That’s Me,” “Image Blown Out,” “She Is a Beautiful,” “Try a Little Sadness,” and “Patricia.”

From Genesis to Revelation
“Every band has to start somewhere” JP and with Genesis’ “members barely past their 18th birthdays… [they were] still working out what they wanted to sound like.” BE As “produced by English impresario Jonathan King,” JP “they sound like the Bee Gees… (picture something similar to the…Odessa album)” BE “trying to be the Moody Blues,” BE albeit “an earnest, mushy, cliché-spouting knockoff” JP of the latter.

The Silent Sun and Where the Sour Turns to Sweet are pleasant enough, but scarcely indicate the true potential of the group or its members. A pleasant enough piece of pop-psychedelia/art rock, but not a critically important release, except to the truly dedicated.” BE “The most amazing thing about this album – a true relic of late-1960s hokum – is that Genesis didn’t change the band name out of embarrassment.” JP

Review Source(s):
  • BE Bruce Eder, All Music Guide
  • JP Jon Pareles, Blender magazine. (10/07), pp.118-9.

Related DMDB Links:

Genesis’ DMDB page Peter Gabriel’s DMDB page next studio album: Trespass (1970)

Last updated March 4, 2010.