Click to return to Dave’s Music Database home page.

Released: Dec. 15, 1978

Rating: 4.042 (average of 12 ratings)

Genre: R&B

Quotable: --

Album Tracks:

  1. Here, My Little Dear
  2. I Met a Little Girl
  3. When Did You Stop Loving Me, When Did I Stop Loving You
  4. Anger
  5. Is That Enough
  6. Everybody Needs Love
  7. Time to Get It Together
  8. Sparrow
  9. Anna’s Song
  10. When Did You Stop Loving Me, When Did I Stop Loving You [instrumental]
  11. A Funky Space Reincarnation
  12. You Can Leave, But It’s Gonna Cost You
  13. Falling in Love Again
  14. When Did You Stop Loving Me, When Did I Stop Loving You (Reprise)

Sales (in millions):

sales in U.S. only 0.5
sales in U.K. only - estimated --
sales in all of Europe as determined by IFPI – click here to go to their site. --
sales worldwide - estimated 0.5


peak on U.S. Billboard album chart 26
peak on U.K. album chart --

Singles/Hit Songs:

  • A Funky Space Reincarnation (1/11/79) #23 RB

Notes: A 2008 expanded edition adds “Ain’t It Funny How Things Turn Around” to the original track listing and adds a second disc of the album’s tracks without overdubs.


Rated one of the top 1000 albums of all time by Dave’s Music Database. Click to learn more. Mojo Magazine’s 100 Greatest Albums

Here, My Dear
Marvin Gaye
“Pre-dating the voyeuristic tendencies of reality television by 20 years, Here, My Dear is the sound of divorce on record – exposed in all of its tender-nerve glory for the world to consume. During the amazing success of I Want You and his stellar Live at the London Palladium album, Marvin Gaye was served with divorce papers from his then-wife Anna Gordy Gaye (sister of Motown Records founder Berry Gordy).” RT

“One of the conditions of the settlement was that Gordy Gaye would receive an extensive percentage of royalties as well as a portion of the advance for his next album. Initially, Gaye was contemplating giving less than his best effort, as he wouldn’t stand to receive any money, but then reconsidered at the last moment. The result is a two-disc-long confessional on the deterioration of their marriage; starting from the opening notes of the title track, Gaye viciously cuts with every lyric deeper into an explanation of why the relationship died the way it did.” RT

“Gaye uses the album, right down to its packaging, to exorcise his personal demons with subtle visual digs and less-than-subtle lyrical attacks. The inner sleeve had a pseudo-board-game-like illustration entitled ‘Judgment,’ in which a man’s hand passes a record to a woman’s. One side of the sleeve has Gaye’s music and recording equipment, while the other side of the board included jewelry and other luxurious amenities.” RT

“Musically the album retains the high standards Gaye set in the early ‘70s, but you can hear the agonizing strain of recent events in his voice, to the point where even several vocal overdubs can’t save his delivery. Stripped to its bare essence, Here, My Dear is no less than brilliantly unsettling and a perfect cauterization to a decade filled with personal turmoil.” RT

Review Source(s):

Last updated November 16, 2010.