Click to return to Dave’s Music Database home page.

Released: February 20, 1989

Rating: 3.875 (average of 11 ratings)

Genre: pop

Quotable: --

Album Tracks:

  1. She Drives Me Crazy
  2. Good Thing
  3. I’m Not the Man I Used to Be
  4. I’m Not Satisfied
  5. Tell Me What
  6. Don’t Look Back
  7. It’s OK (It’s Alright)
  8. Don’t Let It Get You Down
  9. As Hard as It Is
  10. Ever Fallen in Love?


sales in U.S. only 2 million
sales in U.K. only - estimated 900,000
sales in all of Europe as determined by IFPI – click here to go to their site. --
sales worldwide - estimated 2.9 million


peak on U.S. Billboard album chart 1 7
peak on U.K. album chart 1 1

Singles/Hit Songs:

  • Ever Fallen in Love? (3/21/87) #9 UK
  • She Drives Me Crazy (1/7/89) #1 US, #5 UK, #5 MR. Sales: ½ million
  • Good Thing (4/15/89) #1 US, #7 UK, #12 AC, #39 AR, #2 MR
  • Don’t Look Back (8/12/89) #11 US, #34 UK, #38 AR, #9 MR
  • I’m Not Satisfied (2/24/90) #90 US, #46 UK


Brits Award for Album of the Year. Click to go to awards page.

The Raw and the Cooked
Fine Young Cannibals
“One of the most exciting albums released during a decade of artifice and extravagance, in a mere ten songs and 35 minutes the Fine Young Cannibals created a masterpiece. Admittedly the trio had some help – backing singers, guest musicians (including former Squeeze pianoman Jools Holland and Talking Head's Jerry Harrison) – but that doesn’t take away the band’s own accomplishment” (Greene).

“Remaining true to the FYC’s vision of tying past and present musical styles together into artful new pop packages, The Raw & the Cooked features a shopping list of genres. Mod, funk, Motown, British beat, R&B, punk, rock, and even disco are embedded within the songs, while the rhythms, many synthetically created, are equally diverse. In less delicate hands this would be nothing more than an everything including the kitchen sink motley mess, but FYC manage this mix with subtly and elan. Two-thirds of the record were released as U.K. singles, all were hits, and each one proudly boasted a distinctly different blend of styles” (Greene).

Good Thing, for example, was the trio’s tribute to the legendary all-night Northern soul parties of the ‘60s, but is much more than a mere meld of mod and Motown. It’s actually built round a slinky R&B riff, fueled by a boogie-woogie piano, and slammed home with a cracking beat” (Greene).

I’m Not the Man I Used to Be is a torrid torch song, but fired by a futuristic jungle beat and an almost housey production” (Greene).

“Then, of course, there’s She Drives Me Crazy, which features the most unique, and instantly identifiable, beat/riff combination of the decade” (Greene).

“Even the four tracks that didn’t make the singles cut could have, if MCA had the audacity to keep releasing them. Tell Me What perfectly re-creates the Tamla sound, with only the synth giving it a modern touch, but on the rest FYC delve deeper into funk, disco, soul, and lovingly coax them into the modern era” (Greene).

“Every one of Raw’s tracks simmers with creativity, as the hooks, sharp melodies, and irrepressible beats are caressed by nuanced arrangements and sparkling production. Never has music’s past, present, and future been more exceptionally combined” (Greene).

Review Source(s):

Last updated April 7, 2008.