Click to return to Dave’s Music Database home page.

Charted: September 1985

Rating: 4.064 (average of 7 ratings)

Genre: punk rock

Quotable: --

Album Tracks:

  1. Mansion
  2. Bombast
  3. Barmy
  4. What You Need
  5. Spoilt Victorian Child
  6. L.A.
  7. Vixen *
  8. Couldn’t Get Ahead *
  9. Gut of the Quantifier
  10. My New House
  11. Paint Work
  12. I Am Damo Suzuki
  13. To NK Roachment: Yarbles
  14. Petty (Thief) Lout *
  15. Rollin’ Danny *
  16. Cruisers Creek *
* added to reissue


sales in U.S. only --
sales in U.K. only - estimated --
sales in all of Europe as determined by IFPI – click here to go to their site. --
sales worldwide - estimated --


peak on U.S. Billboard album chart --
peak on U.K. album chart 54

Singles/Hit Songs:

  • Couldn’t Get Ahead (7/85) –
  • Cruisers Creek (10/85) --


Rated one of the top 1000 albums of all time by Dave’s Music Database. Click to learn more.

This Nation’s Saving Grace
The Fall
“‘Feel the wrath of my Bombast!’ exhorts Smith on this follow-up to their groundbreaking Wonderful and Frightening World of... the Fall, and this collection is ample proof of the pure confidence the group had at this time. Stompers like Barmy, What You Need, and the mighty Gut of the Quantifier are all led by Brix Smith’s twanging lead hooks, filled by distorted guitars and bludgeoning drums, on top of which Smith rants with conviction” (Mills).

“But it’s the departures from this sound that mark the real interest here: The synth-driven L.A. looks ahead to the Fall’s experiments with electronica; Paint Work is an impressionist piece interrupted by Smith accidentally erasing over some of the track at home; and I Am Damo Suzuki, a tribute to Can’s lead singer, which borrows its arrangement from several of that group’s songs. The Fall sound mysterious, down-to-earth, and hilarious all at the same time” (Mills).

Review Source(s):

Last updated May 29, 2008.