Click to return to Dave’s Music Database home page.

Released: July 27, 1999

Rating: 4.076 (average of 9 ratings)

Genre: R&B/pop

Quotable: --

Album Tracks:

  1. The Writing’s on the Wall (Intro)
  2. So Good
  3. Bills, Bills, Bills
  4. Confessions
  5. Bug a Boo
  6. Temptation
  7. Now That She’s Gone
  8. Where’d You Go
  9. Hey Ladies
  10. If You Leave
  11. Jumpin’, Jumpin’
  12. Say My Name
  13. She Can’t Love You
  14. Stay
  15. Sweet Sixteen
  16. Amazing Grace (Outro)


sales in U.S. only 8 million
sales in U.K. only - estimated 900,000
sales in all of Europe as determined by IFPI – click here to go to their site. 2 million
sales worldwide - estimated 12 million


peak on U.S. Billboard album chart 5
peak on U.K. album chart 10

Singles/Hit Songs: *

  • Get on the Bus * (11/7/98) #15 UK, #63a RB
  • Bills, Bills, Bills (5/22/99) #1 US, #6 UK, #1 RB. Sales: ½ million
  • Bug a Boo (8/21/99) #22a US, #9 UK, #7 RB
  • Say My Name (12/4/99) #1 US, #3 UK, #1 RB. Sales: ½ million
  • Jumpin’, Jumpin’ (5/13/00) #1 US, #5 UK, #8 RB
* only on reissue

Notes: In 2002, the album was reissued with bonus track “Get on the Bus.”


Rated one of the top 1000 albums of all time by Dave’s Music Database. Click to learn more.

The Writing’s on the Wall
Destiny’s Child
“With their second album, Writing’s on the Wall, Destiny's Child still suffers from slightly uneven songwriting, but it’s nevertheless an assured step forward for the girl group. Not only are they maturing as vocalists, they are fortunate to work with such skilled, talented producers as Kevin ‘Shekspere’ Biggs, Rodney Jerkins, Dwayne Wiggins, Chad Elliot, Daryl Simmons, and Missy Elliott, who all give the quartet rich, varied music upon which to work their charm. So, even when the album fails to deliver memorable songs, it always sounds alluring, thanks to the perfect combination of vocalists and producers” (Erlewine).

Review Source(s):

Last updated April 6, 2008.