Click to return to Dave’s Music Database home page.

Released: January 20, 1997

Rating: 4.325 (average of 10 ratings)

Genre: dance/electronica

Quotable: --

Album Tracks:

  1. Daftendirekt
  2. WDPK 83.7 FM
  3. Revolution 909
  4. Da Funk
  5. Phoenix
  6. Fresh
  7. Around the World
  8. Rollin’ & Scratchin’
  9. Teachers
  10. High Fidelity
  11. Rock ‘n Roll
  12. Oh Yeah
  13. Burnin’
  14. Indo Silver Club
  15. Alive
  16. Funk Ad


sales in U.S. only ½ million
sales in U.K. only - estimated 100,000
sales in all of Europe as determined by IFPI – click here to go to their site. --
sales worldwide - estimated 600,000


peak on U.S. Billboard album chart 150
peak on U.K. album chart 8

Singles/Hit Songs:

  • Da Funk (2/22/97) #7 UK
  • Around the World (4/26/97) #61 US, #5 UK
  • Burnin’ (10/4/97) #30 UK
  • Revolution 909 (2/28/98) #47 UK


Rated one of the top 1000 albums of all time by Dave’s Music Database. Click to learn more.

Daft Punk
“Daft Punk’s full-length debut is a funk-house hailstorm, giving real form to a style of straight-ahead dance music not attempted since the early fusion days of on-the-one funk and dance-party disco. Thick, rumbling bass, vocoders, choppy breaks and beats, and a certain brash naiveté permeate the record from start to finish, giving it the edge of an almost certain classic. While a few fall flat, the best tracks make this one essential” (Cooper).

Review Source(s):

Last updated May 30, 2008.