Click to return to Dave’s Music Database home page.

* Live recording *

Recorded: June – July 1970

Released: April 7, 1971

Rating: 3.750 (average of 4 ratings)

Genre: folk rock

Quotable: --

Album Tracks:

  1. On the Way Home
  2. Teach Your Children
  3. Triad
  4. The Lee Shore
  5. Chicago/ We Can Change the World
  6. Right Between the Eyes
  7. Cowgirl in the Sand
  8. Don’t Let It Bring You Down
  9. 49 Bye-Byes/ America’s Children
  10. Love the One You’re With
  11. King Midas in Reverse *
  12. Laughing *
  13. Black Queen *
  14. Medley: The Loner/ Cinnamon Girl/ Down by the River *
  15. Pre-Road Downs
  16. Long Time Gone
  17. Southern Man
  18. Ohio
  19. Carry On
  20. Find the Cost of Freedom
* Added to 1992 CD reissue.

Sales (in millions):

sales in U.S. only 4.0
sales in U.K. only - estimated --
sales in all of Europe as determined by IFPI – click here to go to their site. --
sales worldwide - estimated 4.0


peak on U.S. Billboard album chart 1 1
peak on U.K. album chart 5

Singles/Hit Songs: *

  • The Hollies’ King Midas in Reverse (9/27/67) #51 US, #18 UK
  • Buffalo Springfield’s On the Way Home (10/12/68) #82 US
  • Suite: Judy Blue Eyes (10/4/69) #21 US
  • Teach Your Children (6/8/70) #16 US, #28 AC
  • Neil Young’s Cinnamon Girl (6/20/70) #55 US
  • Ohio (6/27/70) #14 US
  • Stephen Stills’ Love the One You’re With (12/12/70) #14 US, #37 UK, #32 AC
* Figures are for original studio versions of songs.


Rated one of the top 1000 albums of all time by Dave’s Music Database. Click to learn more.

4 Way Street
Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young
“This 1992 expanded version of the original double live album (originally released on April 7, 1971) by CSN&Y is now an indispensible part of any collection, with additional…material…that any serious listener will want” (Eder).

CSN/Y had only released two albums up to this point, but with the four individual members previous work, this adds up to quite the retrospective. Neil Young’s solo work is represented with Cinnamon Girl, Down by the River, Cowgirl in the Sand, all from 1969’s Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere. He also turns in versions of Southern Man and Don’t Let It Bring You Down, both which showed up on 1970’s After the Gold Rush.

Young also contributes a pair of songs from his previous band, Buffalo Springfield, with the non-album cut The Loner and the minor hit On the Way Home.

Speaking of previous bands, David Crosby performs Triad, his controversial song that got him booted from the Byrds, and Graham Nash dips into the Hollies’ catalog with King Midas in Reverse.

Like Young, the other three also perform solo material that had yet to be released – Love the One You’re With (Stills), Laughing (Crosby), and Chicago/ We Can Change the World (Nash).

Of course, the quartet do also record some official CSN/Y songs, including the classics Teach Your Children, Ohio, Long Time Gone, Carry On, and Find the Cost of Freedom. Also of interest are CSN/Y songs that appeared here for the first time and were not subsequently recorded for studio albums - The Lee Shore, Right Between the Eyes, Black Queen, and America’s Children.

“Some of the extended guitar jams between Stills and Young (‘Southern Man’) go on longer than strict musical sense would dictate, but it seemed right at the time, and they capture a form that was far more abused in other hands after this group broke up” (Eder).

Review Source(s):

Related DMDB Link(s):

CSN/Y’s DMDB page
David Crosby’s DMDB page Stephen Stills’ DMDB page Graham Nash’s DMDB page Neil Young’s DMDB page

Last updated February 19, 2010.