Click to return to Dave’s Music Database home page.

Released: November 7, 1989

Rating: 3.702 (average of 12 ratings)

Genre: classic British blues rock

Quotable: “The best studio album [Clapton]'s released since Slowhand” – Stephen Thomas Erlewine, All Music Guide

Album Tracks:

  1. Pretending [4:48]
  2. Anything for Your Love [4:16]
  3. Bad Love (Clapton/ Jones) [5:11]
  4. Running on Faith [5:27]
  5. Hard Times (Charles) [3:00]
  6. Hound Dog (Leiber/Stoller) [2:26]
  7. No Alibis [5:32]
  8. Run So Far (Harrison) [4:06]
  9. Old Love (Clapton/ Cray) [6:25]
  10. Breaking Point (Grebb/ Williams) [5:37]
  11. Lead Me On (Womack/ Womack) [5:52]
  12. Before You Accuse Me (McDaniel) [3:55]

Songs written by Williams unless otherwise noted.


sales in U.S. only 2 million
sales in U.K. only - estimated 300,000
sales in all of Europe as determined by IFPI – click here to go to their site. --
sales worldwide - estimated 5 million


peak on U.S. Billboard album chart 16
peak on U.K. album chart 2

Singles/Hit Songs:

  • Pretending (11/11/89) #55 US, #1 AR
  • Bad Love (11/25/89) #88 US, #25 UK, #1 AR
  • No Alibis (2/24/90) #53 UK, #4 AR
  • Before You Accuse Me (5/5/90) #9 AR
  • Run So Far (8/11/90) #40 AR
  • Running on Faith (Unplugged version) (3/6/93) #15 AR, #28 AC

Eric Clapton
“For most of the '80s, Eric Clapton seemed rather lost, uncertain of whether he should return to his blues roots or pander to AOR radio. By the mid-'80s, he appeared to have made the decision to revamp himself as a glossy mainstream rocker, working with synthesizers and drum machines. Instead of expanding his audience, it only reduced it. Then came the career retrospective Crossroads, which helped revitalize his career, not only commercially, but also creatively, as Journeyman - the first album he recorded after the success of Crossroads - proved. Although Journeyman still suffers from an overly slick production, Clapton sounds more convincing than he has since the early '70s. Not only is his guitar playing muscular and forceful, his singing is soulful and gritty. Furthermore, the songwriting is consistently strong, alternating between fine mainstream rock originals (Pretending) and covers (Before You Accuse Me, Hound Dog). Like any of Clapton's best albums, there is no grandstanding to be found on Journeyman - it's simply a laid-back and thoroughly engaging display of Clapton's virtuosity. On the whole, it's the best studio album he's released since Slowhand” (Erlewine).

Review Source(s):

Related DMDB Links:

Previous Album: August (1986) Eric Clapton’s DMDB page Next Album: Unplugged (1992)

Last updated March 31, 2008.